Survivor Series, Part 1: The Build-Up

Our seats, before the event started.

Our seats, before the event started.

On Sunday, November 27th, I had the opportunity to go to the sold out Air Canada Centre (ACC) in Toronto, to watch World Wrestling Entertainment’s (WWE) Survivor Series pay-per-view (PPV) wrestling event. I was a huge wrestling fan growing up, and after not watching for a few years, I have gradually been getting back into it.

First of all, how did I even get tickets? Tickets for these types of events are extremely expensive, and the event sold out right away. Luckily, one of my really good friend’s girlfriend, has a cousin who is dating the nephew of WWE legend, Bret ‘The Hitman’ Hart. Not only did we get good seats, the tickets were free too.

Rewind to a few months ago, when Mike, Bret Hart’s nephew, told me he was getting us tickets. I immediately told my brother. He was ecstatic. A few weeks later, it was rumoured that Brock Lesnar was going to face off against Goldberg, who hasn’t been around wrestling in almost 12 years. After it leaked online, my brother texted me saying, “I hope you’re not joking about Survivor Series. Apparently it’s going to be Brock Lesnar vs. Goldberg. Please tell me you weren’t messing with me.” This was a HUGE deal.

Back to the current day. My brother and I had been anxiously anticipating this day. The WWE hasn’t had a PPV in Toronto in over a decade. We were like children on Christmas. The nostalgia, the excitement for one night, to be kids again.

We left Brampton at around 3 p.m. and drove to Kipling station. We took the subway from there, transferred at St. George station, and headed for Union. We got downtown at around 4:15 p.m. We walked to Hoops Bar and Grill, to meet up with my buddy, Mike, and Mike’s buddy. We all sat down and had a meal, along with a few beverages. Doors opened at 5 p.m., while the actual event didn’t start until about 7 p.m. We got to the ACC shortly before 6 p.m.

Now, I’m going to skip about four hours here. There were two matches before the actual event called dark matches. A dark match is a match before the actual event, just to warm up the crowd, and get the crowd into it. Sort of like how you warm up before playing a sport. That was followed by three team elimination matches, and two single matches. Lots of great matches went on through the night. But we were all there for one reason. The main event.

Something I didn’t state before was how much the crowd gets into these events. Cheering, booing, laughing. Even non-wrestling fans would understand why people like this kind of stuff. It’s exciting, and it’s even better when you join in the excitement with the crowd. Everyone is just so full of emotion, and it’s also so joyous to see tens of thousands of people being happy, having fun, and having a good time together. The atmosphere is absolutely incredible. After seven matches (link attached for match results), the crowd was ready for the main event.

Leave a Reply

